Discuss Power tool connected to a socket doesn't activate when power switch depressed in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Diyer008

DIY
Reaction score
Power saw connected to a socket doesn't activate when power switch depressed, but it turns on the light fixture in ceiling nearby while power button is depressed. Can someone point me in the right direction on how to correct this problem. Please let me know if you need any additional details as I'm pretty new to this. Thank you ahead for any help or tips.

I believe OP is in America where power and lights may share the same circuit.
@Megawatt would be best to advise, but I’ve not seen him here for a while??

Sounds like the wiring at the outlet is incorrect. Has it ever worked correctly?

If it is a replacement the combo can act in a couple of ways. The switch controls the receptacle and no light or the switch controls a light and the receptacle generally remains permanently on so it is possible the switch is operating correctly and the hot link to the receptacle has been removed. Would need to know the type of outlet and whether it is existing or a replacement.

Two possibilities:

The receptacle is incorrectly connected in series with the light (and if the light works from the switch, the receptacle is in parallel with that) instead of being connected directly to the power feed. This has probably never worked correctly since installation.