Discuss Price per point? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

johnsparks23

I'm an electrical sub contractor, I sub to a larger electrical firm. My work is mainly new build, site work. In the past firms have just given me a price i.e 1st fix, 2nd fix, finals & test. Now the firm I sub for is very inconsistent with pricing jobs, even unrealistic with what the true value of the work is. I need to come up with a pricing
structure, so when I look at the drawings I can come up with a figure. I think a price per point is best.
So anybody got any ideas, on price per point. Cheers.

A mate of mine (another contractor) uses a price per point system - he's programmed an excel sheet to calculate pricing.

Difficulty is you have to assign point values not just to sockets/lights etc but also to install differences eg t&g flooring, occupied rewire etc - so getting it right is pretty complex.

Only really works for domestic.

I used to get £5 per point for extras, eg D/LTS or DSSO. Working on Barrat homes sites but that is too high for what I'm doing now. Anybody use this method for new build/site work?

My general rule is £40 per fitting ie a kitchen with 4 sockets 4 downlights and a light switch would be £360.00. If pricing a rewire etc £40 again permitting plus £50 per bond (if gas is in the under stairs or location close to the CU then £50 for both), plus £200 for the board. Any extra fancy lights or chrome sockets etc I charge extra for. I have been using this system for 4 years and it seems to work ok.

at labour only, i'd be looking at around £25 -30 per point. all depends on how many points you got on same runs though. lots of points close together, price lower.

The above members quoted prices, are for sole traders/contractors, price to the client. These are not relevant for me, subby to electrical contractor. Do any sparks get a 1st fix, 2nd fix price while subbing to an electrical contractor?

normally for subbing, i price as hourly rate.