Discuss Problem with Home Electrics or Appliance - please help in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

leo1

Hi guys, I hope you can help me. I am an engineer but not on electricity, so I apologise if I am using incorrect terminology. Today for the first time, while my dishwasher was on, I heard a clicking noise and it stopped. The noise came from the relevant MCB on the consumer unit (which also feeds the integrated Fridge and Extractor fan in my kitchen), as it interrupted the electricity to the circuit. I put the wall-switch for the dishwasher in the off position and went back to the consumer unit to restore electricity on that MCB. Power came back on on the Fridge and Extractor. Then I tried the wall-switch for the dishwasher and power stayed on. I set the program again on the dishwasher, closed the door and waited. After its initial draining of the remaining water from the previously failed cycle it sounded as if it started to work like normal again but it immediately caused the power to go off again. I have tried a few times and repeatedly obtained the same behaviour. I should also mention that the dishwasher has been emitting a mild burnt-like smell every time it was in use for the last few months, the smell similar to when an electronic component burns on a PCB (printed circuit board). So, do you think I have a problem with the dishwasher or with the connectivity to it and how can I ascertain which one of the two it is? I am worried about calling an electrician who would charge me to then tell me the problem is my dishwasher when I could have just replaced it for say, £200.
Is there anything else I could try? The damn dishwasher is integrated so I cannot see behind it or how it is connected...

Many thanks

Leo

An electrician will be able to tell you for certain what the problem is very quickly and shouldn't cost too much.