Discuss PV Guide. in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Hello all. The PDF makes no mention about MCS equipment or MCS installers required for connection to the grid? Should I publish more information for every one here?

Hello all

I am new to the world of PV and really looking forward to getting into it. Got the MCS accreditation last week :) One little practical issue though - I have to go out and spec a job. How do any of you measure the dimensions of a roof from the ground, as I will need to do later today.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Hi Mikeo,

We are a Solar PV wholesaler and we have a design programme that works everything out. It is difficult to measure it without a scaffold or a long ladder. The easiest way I would suggest is : 1. measure across the gable end wall and half it, 2. count the bricks up from the corner of the roof to the ridge of the roof. Each brick and mortar is 75mm, so will give you a height. You now have the width and the height.

If you draw the width to the centre of the gable and the line up for the height of the gable, this will give you the angle of the roof and the length of the slope, to work out how many panels you can get on. You can easily measure the length of the roof from the ground. You know have a rough idea of the roof size.

I hope I have explained this ok, let me know if I haven't

Regards
Mark
Solus Direct

Hi All
just starting to get into the PV game , a couple of guys I know have mentioned that WF wholsalers are supply the crimping tools MC3 and 4 etc does anybody know of a better supplier of these as the whole test kit including meters etc is in the £1500.00 plus bracket
thanks newbie

Try our forum sponsor test-meter.co.uk (and remember your 5% discount!) they have a range of starter kits at good prices

Hi sparks69,