Discuss Qualifications needed for a UK electrician to work in France in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to these forum so go easy on me!

Apologies if this has been brought up many times before but I have some questions about being an electrician in France.

Basically I'm currently an apprentice in the UK, a couple months away from finishing my Level 3, afterwards I have my NVQ and AM2 to complete. My wife is French and we are planning on moving to Savoy/Rhône-Alps permanently around August. My spoken French is so-so, I can carry very basic conversations but still need more time to improve, while my reading/written French is very bad...

Now I know in France i'll need to get a comparative statement so that I can get the French qualification equivalent, my question is that will the NVQ & AM2 be worth anything in France? Or will I be fine with just my Level 3? For multiple reasons we will need to move by August, and I'm worried I will not be able to complete them by that point, so I'm just hoping I won't be shooting myself in the foot by not finishing them now.

Now I have been working as an electricial apprentice for 3 years but also have 5 years of experience labouring and work with other trades, so I feel confident working by myself but naturally I still have a lot left to learn with this trade, UK or France. My experience has been almost entirely domestic and so I'm concerned working commercial might be a big jump along with all the reg differences and just general practices that aren't the same abroad. What would be the easiest work to find? Do many domestic firms exist or are larger companies mostly commercial?

Ideally I would like to find another electrician to work with as a mate at first, just for the experience.