Discuss Question for a new product: uni student. What jobs are done on the floor / kneeling most? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good day

I'm a university student on a product design course.

To create a product around electricians day to day work making your lives easier.

My main question is what work do you conduct most on or near the floor?
What tools are used in those jobs?
lastly
what are your issues an problems when working down low?
any other information on how something could help make your life easier please feel free to let me know.

Thank you

I think the products already exist, namely knee pads or kneeling boards…. And if not at hand, a scrap piece of insulation board.
Anything to cushion knee joints on a hard floor.

Also, we get younger, more nimble apprentices to do all the bendy work. ;)

In our line of work, the regulations have raised the minimum height of sockets, so we don’t have to get down as far as we used to.

Is it just low level work you are interested in, or also high?
There is a bad habit of decorative light fitting designers of making the fitting several kilograms of weight, having to hold that up at ceiling height, and make connections, whilst up a stepladder.

I think the products already exist, namely knee pads or kneeling boards…. And if not at hand, a scrap piece of insulation board.
Anything to cushion knee joints on a hard floor.

Also, we get younger, more nimble apprentices to do all the bendy work. ;)

In our line of work, the regulations have raised the minimum height of sockets, so we don’t have to get down as far as we used to.

Is it just low level work you are interested in, or also high?
There is a bad habit of decorative light fitting designers of making the fitting several kilograms of weight, having to hold that up at ceiling height, and make connections, whilst up a stepladder.