Discuss Question re 5 amp socket for flatscreen TV use in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

KLaf

Hello all, I am a newbie.

I'm looking for some advice about a wall-mounted 5 amp socket.

In a room in my parents' house there is a wall mounted 5 amp socket, of the three round pin type (I think it's called BS 546). The house was recently rewired and refurbished so the installation is about two years old.

It's pretty high up on a wall in the bedroom and has been installed alongside a TV aerial socket. There's nothing behind the TV aerial socket plate - it's not wired to anything. (I just checked)

My parents had asked for a "flatscreen TV hook up" for their bedroom wall. They just haven't gotten around to getting the flatscreen.

If useful, here's a link to a photo the socket.
http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/8995/06072010001.jpg
also a picture at the bottom of this post...hopefully.

My question is - is this normal? I've never seen a TV run off such a socket before in this country.

If it's neither normal nor abnormal but depends on the circumstances, what circumstances might cause someone to choose this kind of a socket instead of the usual three pin rectangular (BS 1363 I think it's called).

There are more of the 5 amp round pin sockets in the house, but intended for lighting use only, low on the walls near the ordinary sockets and controllable by lightswitches.

Would greatly appreciate any advice! Thanks a million.

Attachments

• 06072010.jpg
    257.2 KB · Views: 25
would imagine so as not to allow you to just plug anything in, was obviously fitted for one low appliance only to be connected and as its next to the tv aerial would say thats the giveaway.

I'm wondering if it's been taken off the lighting circuit for use with TV only.

So you can only watch TV with the lights on
ROTFL.gif

Last edited by a moderator: