Discuss Question Regarding Training - Newcastle upon Tyne in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

clark2585

Hi, have a question relating to training I hope someone on here can answer about getting qualified.

I’m a 26 year old guy, married, 2 kids and currently working in the NHS as an IT engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, North East England.

I left school at 16 and started an apprenticeship as an electro mechanical engineer, unfortunately that was at the time a lot of the factories were laying lads off and as i was a mere apprentice I was amongst the first to go, since then I've concentrated on IT but am starting to get a little board and fancy a career change / retraining.

Given that I've got a family and two kids to keep afloat I can’t give up the current job to retrain so was looking at options such as evening classes that sort of thing but there don’t seem to be any available, only full time courses which aren’t an option.

I’m willing to give anything a go really to get into the field, have even considered approaching local firms and sole traders asking if they want some free labor in return for some training but wasn’t sure how this would be received.

Anyone offer some help or advice?

Cheers.

Hi, have a question relating to training I hope someone on here can answer about getting qualified.

I’m a 26 year old guy, married, 2 kids and currently working in the NHS as an IT engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, North East England.

I left school at 16 and started an apprenticeship as an electro mechanical engineer, unfortunately that was at the time a lot of the factories were laying lads off and as i was a mere apprentice I was amongst the first to go, since then I've concentrated on IT but am starting to get a little board and fancy a career change / retraining.