Discuss Questions about radials in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
First, I am not an electrician, but my brother is and he is helping me on this, I just wanted an extra opinion.
I am refurbing a house and want to have some sockets in my shed and IT corner, I want to make sure that I can connect 4 sockets (in each location) on a 32Amp RCBO with 4mm twin and earth in a radial rather than ring, is that OK?
ALSO, I want to prepare in the kitchen for a cooker and an induction hob in two different sides of the kitchen, again, could I use a 32/40 Amp RCBO with a 6mm twin and earth but in a radial rather than ring or two separate circuits.
Thanks

i'd install 2 separate radials for hob and cooker.each in 6.0mm ( all factors allowing). that way if you have a fault on 1 cooking circuit, you still got the other in operation. ( but each installation should be taken as individual and on it's own merits).

depending on the loading of the sockets you want installed, 2 x 20A radials in 2.5mm may well be enough.

I agree with Tel regarding the oven and hob as for the sockets and your first question 4mm radials 0n a 32A RCBO (as long as other factors have been considered) would be ok. I take it you would are using this as your office.

Looking at your business name is this property part of a commercial venture?

Will your 'brother' be certifying this installation?

Sounds to me like you're trying to save a few quid and get a step by step guide from us.

Lulyz Properties Ltd in LONDON - NW4 4NJ - https://www.bizstats.co.uk/ltd/lulyz-properties-ltd-11211762/