Discuss RCBO's replacing MCB's in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Bud1975

Hi guys,

I am quite new to all this and I have a number of questions running through my head. One of them being.....

Do most RCBO's fit into the space occupied by an MCB to enable that circuit to be RCD protected as I have seen posts to suggest this might be possible? (Of course this would be a much cheaper option than fitting a seperate RCD unit or even a new consumer unit)

Generally, yes.

So simply if a customer wants an addition etc to a circuit or circuits that does not have RCD protection then first (easiest) port of call is to see if an RCBO would replace the current MCB? (If the unit has MCB's that is)

Many thanks

Hi Bud1975, be aware that most RCBOs are physically bigger that the MCB. Sometimes it is quite difficult to get the RCBO in due to the lack of space around the top of the consumer unit, also if there is a "rats nest" of cabling it is again difficult to get the RCBO into the space.

Regards wa

Hi Bud1975, be aware that most RCBOs are physically bigger that the MCB. Sometimes it is quite difficult to get the RCBO in due to the lack of space around the top of the consumer unit, also if there is a "rats nest" of cabling it is again difficult to get the RCBO into the space.

Regards wa

Yes, RCBOs tend to be taller than MCBs so you need to be sure that you have enough room at the top of the CU to get them in.

That said, there is at least one manufacturer who makes RCBOs the same size as MCBs - I think it's BG, but I'm not sure.

Thanks for all your replies guys it is all helpful and gives me a really good point to start with.

I have just seen the following link.... Electrical Components Direct Ltd Compact RCBO Mini RCBO Circuit Breakers which shows a "compact mini RCBO" by ECD although one of the customer comments said he was suprised to see this was an MK product.