Discuss RCCB tripping when under load problems in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello

I am new to the forum and was hoping I could pick your collective brains.
I am an electrician with 7 years experiance. I have mainly worked for the MOD and on commercial and industrial builds throughout my time.
I now do the odd bit of domestic work and need some help on a kitchen ring main I have installed.

The circuit is wired in 2.5mm twin and earth. The circuit is protected by a 32b MCB and a 63amp RCCB covers this and a bank of 5 other circuits.
I have tested the ciruit with a fluke tester and the readings have all come back perfect. Low continuity values. Insulation resistance tests clear. Fault loop impedance test came back at 0.54 ohms. (Max 1.16 ohms)
When I turn the circuit on the MCB and RCCB holds fine but as soon as I plug something in the RCCB trips. I thought this was strange as the circuit tested out fine and all the other circuits on the RCCB work fine aswell. I disconnected all the neutrals from the other circuits and left all circuits off but the kitchen circuit, but still when load is applied the RCCB trips.

I don't have a lot of experience with testing but know enough to get by, I thought. I have asked fellow electricians and they suggested the RCCB or MCB was faulty so I have changed them both. Still the probem persists.

Any ideas what the issue may be?

Thank you for your help in advance

Fellow sparky

Some further easy things to check:

1. Test RFC IR L-E and N-E.

2. The IR of load you are using to test the RFC.

3. Polarity L-N at each socket. Modern sockets switch the N first and L second on closing and L first and N second on opening.