Discuss RCD adaptor issue in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I am seeking professional advice. I have no electrical qualifications. On the last 2 occasions I have cut my lawn the RCD adaptor did not trip BUT when I disconnected the mower the RCD was completely dead (ie would not reset nor test nor allow power to any device) . On the second occasion I borrowed a friends RCD adaptor and consequently destroyed his! Obviously I suspect the mower but as a novice I would have expected either of the RCDs to trip. On the occasion before these lawn cuttings I had some difficulty connecting the power lead to the mower hence my suspicion of the mower having a fault. I would like an explanation as the only other cause could be the house socket (its in a newish build and has not had any previous problems!) Many thanks Paul

If it is a newish build do you need an rcd adaptor, I assume this adaptor you plug to the socket outlet first.

The answer to that is probably not. But the new build is an extension and as I understand it on a different circuit to the rest of the house. But to do the front lawn I use the other circuit. (I said I am not an electrician) and the use of the adaptor is basically habit. I am chasing an explanation so I know whether to ditch the lawn mower or have the extension electrics investigated. Thanks for replying

It sounds odd. An RCD adaptor should survive OK even with the switching on/off of a load such as a lawnmower.

Were they both the same brand of RCD adaptor?

True, in a new house the sockets should already be protected, but equally you ought to test the main RCD (at the CU = consumer unit = fusebox) regularly (which will cut the 13A socket power temporarily, so best to trun off PCs and TIVO recorders, etc, beforehand).