Discuss rcd between board? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

W

wannabesparky

i was just wondering if someone could enlighten me please as im still learning.
I have a TT installation
100A main fuse
wylex 12 way split load board 100A 100ma rcd & 30ma time delay rcd
between the board and the main fuse there is a 63A rcd of some sort, this isnt right is it because the 63A would trip out before the rcds in the board.
What i dont understand and just cant get my head around is:
  • if there is a 100A main fuse and there is a 100A rcd in the board which will trip first?
  • And what should be between the board and the main fuse instead of the 63A rcd?
Any help would be much appreciated, thank you.

Is it not a 100ma Time delayed Rcd and a standard non delayed 30ma RCD ?
The 100A Main Fuse and the 100A/100Ma rcd perform 2 completely seperate functions!
The 63A Rcd whatever its tripping current may be [Not stated in post] appears to be incorrect in this set up and should be removed,as discrimination in the event of an Earth Fault will not be achieved.

spark1

Hi.

Sounds like there was a recent mains upgrade carried out and whoever carried it out didn't bother removing the old RCD that was probably protecting the old wylex re-wireable fuse board.

Ideally this needs removing as like Spark1 has said in the event of fault all circuits will be lost causing great inconvenience.

yes spark1
it is a 100ma Time delayed Rcd and a standard non delayed 30ma RCD, sorry i wrote it wrong.

so if the 63A rcd before the board is removed what should replace it if anything at all?

Adding to this, the old type RCD was used as protection for the tails as well as the installation.

Nowadays, most CU's are insulated and so dont need the protection up front.

yes spark1