Discuss RCD headache in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jono

Hi,

I'm not an electrician just a consumer. I've a recurring problem wit an RCD tripping for no apparent reason, which I'll describe. Obviously I'll not touch it myself (other than to reset the RCD) but I'd be interested in views as to what's occurring. Oh; one thing. I don't understand the jargon/abbreviations.

I've two sets of circuit breakers. One is for the beefier stuff (hob, oven, CH, and the lights and sockets in the garage). The other covers everything else. The beefy RCD has started tripping randomly though it only seems to happen at weekends. The lights in the garage are 2 x fluorescent tubes. The sockets take the washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher and fridge freezer. Why the garage? Ask my landlord.

When I moved in, the WM caused the RCD to trip and a faulty motor (it was clearly faulty, as it made an awful noise) was replaced. This cured it. There's no evidence of any fault with the WM since then. I did wonder if the new problem was the (new) Baxi back boiler but this works without incident through the week. I'm pretty sure that when it tripped last weekend, only the CH, hob and oven were on. I turned the hob and oven off but it went again a short while later.

It's the inconsistency that gets me. I can't isolate any single appliance as being the culprit but it's obviously (?) something that's used at the weekend. That implies the WM or dryer but they weren't on last weekend when it last tripped! Today, they'd both finished their cycles and were simply sitting there (still switched on) waiting to be emptied when the RCD tripped.

I'll get my landlord and a pukka eectrician onto it but I'd welcome any views.

RCD most likely doing its job, protecting the consumer.

Your appliances dont need to be running when they can cause a fault, just plugged in can be enough.

Look for something which mixes electricity and water as thats the favorite.