Discuss RCD Question! in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

r10ley

Hi new to the forum so Hi again. Quick background of myself, I am a time served electrican but still new only 22 I have the 17th and 2391 however my background is industrial hence havent done much with houses in the past anyway....

Im looking to put a 2 way garage RCD consumer unit into my garage (obviously). The issue I have is that I currently have a new style split load dual RCD cosumer unit in my home. I am led to believe that having two RCD's in series in a single circuit is a no no.

I intend to run the supply from my garage from one of the two RCDs in my split load board however these MCBs are obviously RCD protected and the problem then comes by the fact the garage cosumer unit also is RCD protected. They are both 30mA rated.

I see no way round this as an unprotected MCB cannot be put into my new consumer unit in my home unless I go to stupid lengths regarding earthed conduit. The only other solution I can see is by buying a garage consumer unit without a RCD in however I dont seem to beable to find one on the net.

Can anybody help

Thanks

r10ley

go to your local electrical supplier and get a main switch and replace the RCD one in the garage distboard with that , although when i do garage supplies i do like garages to be on their own RCBO so as not to cause nesance tripping

Garage C/U units typically have a higher ip rating. In my opinion you'll be fine putting in a 2 way C/U with main switch for the garage, with the RCD protection coming from your Dual RCD 17th edition board.

Just consider where you situate the new Sub board due to the lower IP rating of the enclosure.

Hi just another quick question. Regarding two RCDs in series being a no no what about having sockets supplied off a RCD via a split load board and then putting an external socket outside with a RCD incorporated?

Thanks

r10ley