Discuss RCD Spur in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

a1ant

Hi all,

Just a quickie hopefully... Wiring in a new boiler which is located in a kitchen.... obviously being in a kitchen requires RCD protection... Is an RCD Spur sufficient to satisfy the requirement for RCD protection?

Hopefully that makes sense :shocked:

Thanks,
Alan

Lol To be honest I think they do use the sink as a bath, but thats another story!

Sorry I might not have explained myself properly. There will be a wiring centre, 3 Motorised Zone valves Wireless thermostat receiver and Programmer all located next to/under the boiler. I was under the impression that due to this being in a kitchen it would require RCD protection and be classed as an addition to the circuit?

Also let me just explain the situation, I am a qualified plumber by trade, also have Part P Full scope. Normally on boiler jobs I do all the boiler installation/plumbing works, and wire all the controls etc into the wiring centre, and then we have a dedicated (proper) sparks who comes in and does testing and provides power to the wiring centre and certificates notifies etc then I commission the boiler. Anyway, our sparks is away for a month so on this particular job ive been asked to connect it up and do the testing/ notification as well. I will refuse to carry out any work im not confident with, which is why Ive come on here to be honest. I wasn't confident therefore ive asked you experts:bobby:.

So please be gentle with me lol

if your cable feeding the FCU is buried < 50mm deep in a wall, then that cable needs RCD. if surface and/or under floor, then it don't need RCD . and there's no requirement for RCD to the boiler .

Only circuits that go into a location containing a bath or a shower have to have RCD protection