Discuss RCD Tripped by Cooker Circuit (Update) in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

charlhu

Many thanks for the numerous thoughtful responses to my initial post. I think the threads have become too long for members to spend time following. So I am starting a new thread here to recap the story deleting redundant info and updating in the light of comments received.
# I will not bore members with an account of my professional qualifications/career etc. Please kindly accept that, although I am not a qualified electrician, I am technically proficient and accustomed to trouble-shooting problems - 95% of which can be solved for oneself by logic and a step-by-step procedure to eliminate possible causes. Regarding DIY - I know what I can comfortably handle myself and where to draw the line and get in a qualified professional. I would NEVER work on an electrical mains board (CU) and, in this instance, my "work" has only been to disconnect an oldcooker from the cable coming from the output side of a cooker switch and then connect a replacement. The "expertise" required for that is the same as fitting a plug - be sure not to interchange line and neutral, ensure the earth is OK and that the connections are tight. In investigating the problem all that I have done is open the cooker switch to check that the original connections are tight and visually inspected the Consumer Unit.