Discuss RCDs tripping at several properties in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a resident at a Park Home site (glorified caravans) with about 50 houses. On Saturday a.m. my fuse box RCD tripped out but only for the sockets. I assumed that I was at fault and proceeded to isolate appliances to find the culprit. That afternoon it went again. At that time I became aware that several (11) of my neighbours were having the same problem. It has continued to trip on about 15 other occasions over the ensuing days. There is no pattern to it. The houses are scattered around the site. It happens at the same time for each house. It only affects the socket circuit. We've had professionals on site who go around scratching their heads. What is going on? Has anybody had a similar experience? It must be an outside influence in my view. I have suggested that the boxes in the houses may be of a similar make and perhaps slightly more sensitive to a spike but that was dismissed out of hand. Any clues?

It is possible only the sockets are on the RCD and it could be due to spiking, is there work going on in the area?

You say 'professionals'? Is that professional electricians or whoever runs the park's own guys?
An electrician will have a tester that will give him the supply voltage reading. I bet its over 250
My money is on outside influence. The nature of holiday and home parks is that the supply isn't great. Probably comes in on an overhead line.
Voltage spike would be first bet. Did any filament type lamps get brighter?
Your 11 neighbours are maybe off the same distribution board on the park, possibly same phase. (There are 3 separate phases, if you're not aware)
I'm surprised the RCD in the hookup unit didn't trip.(or are these units hard wired back to the dis board?)

I worked on a holiday home site for several years, and although not strictly residential we did have people there almost all the time.