Discuss Reliable thermostat switch to "Open" at high temps ? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

LukeD

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
For a roof top boiler enclosure that is really way too hot in this weather .Plan to have large vents at the bottom and to use a Room stat set up to run a 6 inch bathroom fan etc to come on when it hits 25 degrees inside. This morning it was reading 47 degrees inside ! Using the room stat in "reverse" to trigger only at the set temp etc .

Most room thermostats have a N/O terminal so can be used for this, often labelled as a satisfied or make on rise terminal.

Though depending on how fast it heats/cools you may need to think about a means of preventing it from cycling too quickly.

I'm no expert, but might be worth checking the gas regulations actually permit an extractor fan, depending on whether the boiler is sealed flue or natural draught.
Extractor fans are allowed, but limits on their extraction rates, and a test should be done with all extractors in the area on, and all doors, windows, etc. closed.

Probably worth contacting manufacturers to see if it matters on the upper level. I've only ever had to be concerned with the frost side of things, and given our temperatures in Northern Ireland, I don't see that changing

Reply to Reliable thermostat switch to "Open" at high temps ? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hello, I have a regular boiler doing room heating only, with a Drayton programmer (for time) + a Drayton dial stat (for temp). I've bought a...
Replies
Views
I've always thought I was quite good a wiring heating systems, I can do Y plan, S plan, UFH set ups, "normal" thermal stores etc, you name it and...
Replies
Views
Hi there, I've had 4 plumbers & 1 electrician look at my problem (seemingly without dedicating too much time unfortunately), spending more than...
Replies
Views