Discuss replace ceiling rose wiring help in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Jafsit

DIY
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am in middle of refurbishing a bathroom, new flooring and wall and ceiling panels. Im not a builder, part time DIY and enthusiast and use YouTube as a learning resource

I'm also looking to replace an old ceiling light and attach a none-timer fan directly the light, so that when switch turns on light and fan comes on.

Bad bit is im completely new to electrician work and have the basic theory on lights such as loop in, out, Switch cable, and how they connect together.

However when checking the wiring of the light, its not clear to me what im suppose to do to connect the new LED light. I see 3 red wires hiding inside some selatape, see 3 black wires connecting directly to a t210 light holder. See some twisted copper screwed in to light base itself, assume that's earth. Please see pics.

What im after is a bit of guidance really as to, if you are familiar with this type of holder and how the wires are unplugged, if the three black wires are live neutral and earth, that have not been sleeved and how I would go about working out which one is which, if it looks like a straight forward job, I understand I would be better off calling an electrician but with covid timing and full lockdown am confident I can do this with some guidance and would be greatly appreciated. The new LED light is Just neutral and live, made from plastic.

oh and the fan, any advice on connecting the nutral and live connections from the fan to - is it permanent live and Neutral?? and a bit of advice if you have any, thanks again?

Please see picturesScreenshot_20201103-144652_Gallery.jpg

20201031_114107.jpg

20201031_113324.jpg

TL;DR
Replace ceiling rose wiring question

Attachments

• 20201031_113324.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 5
  • 20201031_114107.jpg
    46.9 KB · Views: 6