Discuss Replacing a kitchen wall fan in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Crassus

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie to the forum and I'm replacing a wall mounted extractor fan in the kitchen. The existing fan wasn't working when we bought the house, but it is wired on twin and earth cable and is switched off and on by an isolation switch (no pull cord). I assume that it didn't have a timer. The new fan does have a timer and so has a terminal for a 3 core cable (L1, L2 N). So my question is, because I'm not too concerned about the timer facility can I get the new fan to work just by connecting it to the existing cable? If so, would I just connect the live supply wire to L1 (switched live) in the fan. Even if this works is there a better solution?

Without seeing the instructions, I can't be 100% sure, but it's an educated guess that suggests if you connect L1 and L2 together and connect them to the live, it will work as you intend.

Without seeing the instructions, I can't be 100% sure, but it's an educated guess that suggests if you connect L1 and L2 together and connect them to the live, it will work as you intend.

Hi SparkyChick, thanks for your reply. So just to be clear, if I connect the supply to a terminal block, and then take a 2 core wire from the terminal block live to the L1 and L2 terminals in the fan, that should work?

Hi SparkyChick, thanks for your reply. So just to be clear, if I connect the supply to a terminal block, and then take a 2 core wire from the terminal block live to the L1 and L2 terminals in the fan, that should work?

I believe so. But as I say, without seeing the instructions it's an educated guess based purely on the labelling L1, L2 - Line, N - Neutral

Hi,have you confirmed the voltage of the old fan?