Discuss Reverse camera trigger is triggering when braking! in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

mattg4321

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I recently fitted a reverse camera to my van. All working perfectly for a couple of months now.

Recently, the monitor has been turning on for a fraction of a second when braking. It usually only happens in the first few minutes of driving after it's been sat an hour or more. The trigger wire for the monitor to turn on is connected to the reverse light at the rear cluster.

Seems like for some reason when I brake the voltage on the reverse light circuit is rising slightly. Enough to sometimes trigger the monitor to turn on for a split second.

I'm no auto electrician, but it reminds me of the times I've come across LED lighting having a faint glow - usually when 2 way switches. Seems like I need some sort of 'snubber' to stop this happening! Anyone a bit more clued up with auto electrics have any ideas?

I recently fitted a reverse camera to my van. All working perfectly for a couple of months now.

Recently, the monitor has been turning on for a fraction of a second when braking. It usually only happens in the first few minutes of driving after it's been sat an hour or more. The trigger wire for the monitor to turn on is connected to the reverse light at the rear cluster.

Seems like for some reason when I brake the voltage on the reverse light circuit is rising slightly. Enough to sometimes trigger the monitor to turn on for a split second.

I'm no auto electrician, but it reminds me of the times I've come across LED lighting having a faint glow - usually when 2 way switches. Seems like I need some sort of 'snubber' to stop this happening! Anyone a bit more clued up with auto electrics have any ideas?

Isn't it supposed to connect in the gearbox control in the cab? In so much that putting vehicle into reverse closes a push switch turning on the camera?

What's the make model of van and reversing camera?