Discuss Ring Final Circuit Testing in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

P

Paul_K

Hi all,

I'm still learning this stuff so go easy!

I've just carried out a ring final circuit test. Having identified both legs of the ring I began testing between both ends of the line conductor, which has given me an infinite reading on the meter. I also got the same result on the cpc. When testing the neutral I get 0.56 ohm..

The answer to me suggests I have an open cpc and neutral on the circuit. Am I on the right path here, or have I missed something?

Thanks in advance!

The tester is a Fluke 1653B

open circuit on L and cpc. rN is 0.56 ohms so you would expect r1 to be the same. if it's T/E cable, 2.5mm, then expect the cpc ( r2 ) to read about 0.9 ohms.

Thanks Telectrix, it is T+E, just needed to confirm that as I'm not well experienced in the testing yet, even though it appears obvious! :-/

Hi ifindoubtdont,

Yep, the ring is on the one breaker (32amp).. Both lines removed from the same breaker, and traced right back to the mechanical insulation where their neutrals and cps were confirmed, which were also together in their respective slots in the board! :-/

so it looks like you have bad/broken connections in a socket, JB, or a damaged cable.

not necessarily. look at the socket circuit as a whole. estimate an approx. mid point. then use a wander lead to find which leg has the fault/s. then split that leg and repeat untill you have tracked it down.

Good advice Telectrix, a wander lead is next on the shopping list.. I just got my Fluke T5-600 through the door this morning. I'm thinking I should maybe have got a wander lead first, considering I've got a Fluke i410 clamp & T140 already! :-/