Discuss Ring Main Breaker Size in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

benlwatts

Hi Guys,

Recently I had an issue with a ring main in my flat either the circuit was over loaded or the connection at the breaker was poor. Either way it ended up with a burnt out breaker with black scorch marks on the top and melted cables by the breaker. As the flat is rented i'm unfortunately not allowed to change anything with out prior approval from letting agency.

Where i'm going with this is i'm pretty new to the whole trade and don't want to question the electrician they sent to fix it but i'm concerned that he has oversized the breaker. He's replaced the broken 32A with a 40A the ring main is wired with bog standard 2.5mm T+E. I'm pretty sure if i've remembered my teachings right that at most for a ring main it is 32A. Should i be questioning this ?

Ben

Thats what i thought it was, But what i'm questioning is the electrician replace the old 32A breaker with 40A for a ring main using 2.5mm cable ?

either that, or one of those faulty electrium breakers subject to recall. unusual to fit a 40A though.

Yes a 32Amp breaker is the way to go, the guy that fitted the 40amp probably it was all he had or he was to lazy to go and get the proper breaker

weird, that, coz. in general we usually have loads of 32A going spare after replacing with 16A or 20A when we do board changes and find 2 radials in a 32A.

Maybe..... Hes coming back, and was concerned the existing MCB was faulty so stuck (an albeit too large) valued new MCB in its place.

i would prefer a new 40A mcb than a clapped out 32A one. Even if its just for a day.

am i bad

Maybe..... Hes coming back, and was concerned the existing MCB was faulty so stuck (an albeit too large) valued new MCB in its place.

i would prefer a new 40A mcb than a clapped out 32A one. Even if its just for a day.

am i bad