Discuss Ring Main on but half of sockets not working in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

spadge47

hey guys,

I am absolutely stumped with this one.

Im working on a house and at the fuseboard all the ring mains are on. (ive checked for r1 continuity and CPC etc.. and its a ring on ther
However half of the sockets are not working. Ive plugged in my socket tester and im not getting any voltage on my tester (i am getting voltage at certain sockets). Ive looked for an RCD/fused spur incase the 6 sockets are fed on a separate RCD.

ive opened up sockets looking for breaks in cable too.

the only work done recently was a carpet fitter installing carpet grips however i cant see how he would have gone clean through both legs of the ring at two separate points.

please help :(

Regards,
James

Hi James,

I'm no expert, but have you checked the In/out of the the rn conductor? Thinking if there is a break in the neutral conductor, how well would a socket tester work?

Say for example there was a break I the neutral conductor in the first place, a single break could go in noticed as using both other sides of the ring either side of the break, now a carpet fitter comes in, drives a nail through the other neutral and bam... Sockets in the middle not working.

Other option is perhaps they are spurred off another socket? When the board is dead, link out r1 and r2 (of circuit in question only) at the board and test resistance between the two. Try again with r1+r2.

Other option is to long lead each conductor to other sockets which are thought to be in the ring. This may show where the fault may lay?

be good to hear how you get on!

Dan

I would re do your tests as it cannot (without continuity)be a ring final as your suggesting as you have no voltage (continuity) at certain s/o!
Start again and go through the basic test procedure and I am sure you will find what is what !
I take it you have more than a socket tester in your tool box ?