Discuss Robin KTS 1620 in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mikeyb1000

Hello everyone,

I have just bought a Robin KTS 1620 from ebay. I am new to actually testing and this is my first tester. Continuity seems to work fine though the problem is with the Insulation Resistance function. When I place the croc clips together I get a reading of 1.2MΩ fluctuating to 1.38MΩ (or there about, when it should be reading "OL" or over range) and when I place them onto the lighting circuit I am testing (with all switches closed/on) I get the reading "OL" (which is what I also get when I remove the croc clips from each other as previously mentioned when not testing anything and crop clips connected direct to each other). Now the manual says OL means over range more than 200MΩ , so I'm not sure that the test I'm doing really is over range if its also saying that when the leads aren't even connected to anything!

Can anyone else shed some light on why this may be?

Hi Dave, no, no calibration certificate with it, though I will take it to get it calibrated. the seller on ebay seemed genuine as he has 219 sales and a 100% positive feedback rating. Is it possible that this is just a calibration thing or would calibration not fix this in your opinion?.
Cheers.

I must admit it came with everything, and no scuffs etc. Almost mint condition.

- - - Updated - - -

Hi gutterball, I've not yet calibrated it. Will calibration fix this or does it sound like something that calibration wont fix?

with the leads not shorted, you should get O/L. with them shorted together it should read 0.00. Meg ohm. first check batteries, then see if the leads will null. then try wiggling the leads and see if the resistance measurement alters.