Discuss Rosemary Hard clay roof tiles problem in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

soupastar

Ok I am newbie here but have a question about the above which I hope is cool.

I am attaching a Juliette balcony to a loft dorma which is clad in rosemary red hard clay roof tiles. All the tiles are attached and are vertical.

I need to drill around 16 holes 8mm sometimes through double thickness tiles. I have so far managed to get through one of the overlapped tiles and in the process ruined two diamond tip drill bits. One was a pre oiled tip which you are not supposed to use over a 1,000 rpm it says it doesnt need cooling either but it was pretty useless. I dont want to crack the tiles but it has taken nearly 40 minutes just to get one hole. The other diamond drill bit has lost its coating even though I was constantly dipping into water to cool.

I was told by the fella who laid the tiles that he went through two £69 grinder blades when cutting them.

Any advice to what drill bit I should be using or what I could be doing wrong is appreciated.

I would personally never drill tiles, be they hanging or roofing. Will the tiles not crack when you tighten the screws holding Juliette balcony - judging the results of a search for Juliette balcony your gonna break the tiles when you tighten those screws.

My advice is to remove the tiles and use lead or flashing, other wise you'll be replacing tiles every year for the foreseeable future.

Balcony sould be fixed first then tiled in later.
If roofer is trying to cut Rosemary tiles with a grinder, he is a ****wit and does not know what he is doing.
He should use tile croppers or a pair of pincers to nibbble them to the correct size,
(old school).