Discuss Running cables to a socket in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys

my first post in here its probably common sense but here i go.

Im currently an apprentice maintenance electrician so domestic wiring i dont see too much of. My question is for my logbook. I have to run in a radial socket circuit. I know all the usual stuff B20A MCB 2.5mm cable clipped around under the floor etc. my question is how do i access the wall cavity of a timber frame wall with plasterboard on it from below the floor. Do i drill a 19mm hole up through the timber at an angle into the cavity?

Thanks guys any info appreciated im still learning & dont get much practice on domestic

Not forgetting the lovelies that are concealed in the cavities of T/F constructed properties...you may negate those risks by opening up sections and making good. There are devices for threading through studding,but unless you are very confident,regarding what lies within,it could turn into a services lucky-dip! :icon12:

If you can get an angle drill with a short drill bit in it under the wall you can drill straight up into the wall, a 25mm home will make life nice and easy for getting the cables through.

If you cannot get under the wall then cut the whole for the socket and with a long drill but carefully drill at an angle down through the hole and through the sole plate of the wall

my question is how do i access the wall cavity of a timber frame wall with plasterboard on it from below the floor. Do i drill a 19mm hole up through the timber at an angle into the cavity?

Thanks guys any info appreciated im still learning & dont get much practice on domestic

I would cut out the hole for the socket first (assuming it is 450mm from the floor) you can then put your hand in the cavity and check for other cables and pipes. Remove the rockwool so it dos not wrap around your drill bit when drilling.