Discuss Schedule Of Inspections question in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Benjjy02

Im sure this is a
regular question on here but here we go again

If the “Routing of cables in prescribed zones” requires ether a tick or a cross on the Schedule of inspections, for i.e. a CU replacement, but the
routing of the cables is a mystery to the installer, What should be
done?

This is for my NICinspection so I appreciate any help

Thanks
Ben

@ malcolmasanford- Im only a rookie at this, but my understanding is with an EIC only a tick or cross is acceptable.

@ topquak- I wouldnt like to disagree with greater men than me, but iv alway been led to believe once you replace the PD then you are responsible for that
circuit. Do you know where it says “only responsible for work done”?

Thanks for your responses

You are issueing an EIC for the work you have carried out nothing else.

So in the 'extent of installation covered by this certificate' box you would write 'upgrading of CU only' When it then comes to the 'routing of cables in prescribed zones' box on the inspection schedule you would write N/A as you havn't installed and cables only replaced the CU.

OK. say you are replacing a CU. the only way to find out if cables are roted in prescribed zones is :

1. lift floor boards to ensure cables are below 50mm deep, drilled through joists, not notched. 2. use a metal/cable detector on the walls to ensure the cables are vertical and/or horizontal from accessories (no diagonal runs).

suppose that cables run under the bathroom floor which is tiled. are you going to rip up tiles and flooring to determine cable location?

that is where the n/a or n/v comes in. what you can't check, you have to enter as malcolm said. no use ticking a box if you can't verify.

record all deviations if you put an X