Discuss Seriously considering career change. Which route to qualification? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Tbj

Hi,

First, apologies if this has been done to death.

I am 28 and considering a career change to become an electrician, preferably in the industrial sector. I have over 10 years' experience as a computer programmer and fancy a change - I've spent way too much of my life sat on my bum!

Always had a passion for electrics and electronics and I'm a keen electronics hobbyist with a good working knowledge of electrical theory too. I realize all this counts for virtually nothing when it comes to becoming a professional electrician though. :D

So... it seems my best route would be to take the C&G 2365 levels 2 and 3 and, once that's complete, I should be in relatively good stead to get a job in the industry, right?

Can I also do domestic work with this qualification - i.e will I be able to self-certify installations if I am a member of NICEIC/NAPIT etc?

Has anyone had success with getting funding to do these courses? I've never been in higher education before so I don't really know how it works but I was hoping I'd be entitled to at least a loan to cover the course fees - has anyone had any success with this?

Cheers, and sorry for the stupid questions, I'm just really rubbish at figuring out how to start :p

Hi,

First, apologies if this has been done to death.

I am 28 and considering a career change to become an electrician, preferably in the industrial sector. I have over 10 years' experience as a computer programmer and fancy a change - I've spent way too much of my life sat on my bum!

Always had a passion for electrics and electronics and I'm a keen electronics hobbyist with a good working knowledge of electrical theory too. I realize all this counts for virtually nothing when it comes to becoming a professional electrician though. :D