Discuss Setting up whilst working full time in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Good afternoon everyone.

So im currently working as a multi skilled engineer in the food production industry.
Im a qualified electrician with most of my qualifications apart from 2391.
Im looking to set up and go self employed offering domestic,industrial and agricultural services but want to set everything up and get the business running whilst still working full time at my current job. I have the time to do this but have a few questions.

1. What company should i set up? Sole trader or limited? I want to do the work for the business but not take a wage from it till i swap to working full time on it all the profits will be put back into the business.

2. Is it worth me getting my 2391? And why if so?

3. What insurances will i need?

Ive never been self employed and im finding different things i find on the internet contradict each other and can find a clear answer.

Thanks for any help

Hello, That's your choices sole trader or Ltd company. . I personally would get the 2391 or equivalent due to some wack asking for it or you sub off a company which want it...

As for insurance, liability as standard and indemnity if you carrying out testing and giving out advice.

you might want to join a scheme too?

With a ltd company you need to allow for several hundred to 1k for added costs such as accounts etc...
Also need to consider you will pay employers NI on anything you pay yourself so speak to an accountant. To begin with you may find it easier as a sole trader.
A good accountant will always save you more than they cost. Mine does...

As mentioned above, with a Ltd company you need to allow costs for an accountant - in my case, this currently costs me £600 per year.