Discuss Shower Pullcord in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Sparky Stu

I am an adult trainee and i am trying to understand a problem that i must have with my shower pullcord isolater in my bathroom. Recently it has burnt out and was wondering what has caused this, as i have replaced this isolator a few times over the years.

The neutral cable on the load side is the cable that has always burnt out. The cable is 10mm and the length of run cannot be that great as c/u is located in the kitchen directly under my bathroom. The shower is 8.5kw on a 40A 60898 MCB.

Each time i have replaced this pullcord i have stripped the cable back to where the cable is in good condition. Just looking for some possible answers as cable is now beginning to get a bit on the short side from all the previous stripping back. Cheers Stu :)

It sounds like the neutral is loose!

It could be that the 10mm cable is a bit too big for the terminals and not in properly. The design current is only 37a therefore you can get away with 6mm cable!

Also what is the rating of the switch?

Mark

as above, buy an mk one or similar, cheaper ones are likely to burn out, especially if kids use the shower as they are in there ages. tighten those screws up real tight

Also make sure you use the units, power on/off switch to actually turn the shower off. Quite often people just use the pull cord to turn the shower off and therfore your switching under load, which will reduce the life of perhaps cheaper switches.

I only fit the 50amp Crabtree ceiling pull switch now as the old 45amp square ones are difficult to wire and prone to suffer from loose connections and burning out. The Crabtree is well designed and easy to wire with 10mm cable, also when you remove the cover the neon is removed as well. IMHO a very well thought out piece of kit and well worth checking out.