Discuss Shower with 2.5mm cable in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi

Today I looked at a bathroom to do a renovation and noticed it had an electric shower with a 2.5mm T&E powered from a 13A FCU

Apparently this was tested and a cert was issued by an NICEIC electrician last month.

I'm relatively new to this but would have thought it would need to be at least 6mm up to 7.5Kw and 10mm for 8.5Kw

I can't think of any reason why anyone would fit it with a 13A FCU and 2.5mm cable?

Have I missed something?

You are right, you must be relatively new if you are applying cable sizes to showers as a rule of thumb without taking into account any other factors concerning the circuit.

What was the rating of the shower in question ? Was it perchance a power shower ?

If the shower loading is as you say then it certainly doesn't comply with standard design rules.

I remember looking at a job where the woman had a new electric shower fitted as a replacement. Her granddaughter hopped into it and was showering quite happily for 3/4 hr until the BS3036 fuse blew.

It is possible to run this sort of set up for a few minutes without a disaster, run it for any longer and its goodnight BS1362 fuse, up-rate the fuse to a bolt and its goodnight house wiring and possibly the house.

You are right, you must be relatively new if you are applying cable sizes to showers as a rule of thumb without taking into account any other factors concerning the circuit.

What was the rating of the shower in question ? Was it perchance a power shower ?
Shootgun.lol

Well as I am not changing the shower out and only doing the bathroom renovation I did not go through the whole circuit as I was not overally interested in it as I won't be touching it. I just wondered why somebody would do that.