Discuss Shunt Trip Breakers in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello, Ill start by saying i am NOT an electrician. I do own a small business installing commercial kitchen exhaust systems and fire suppression systems. I assist the electrician on site normally in wiring the Fire system and alarms.
I recently heard of a shunt trip breaker.
In the past, and on most jobs, electricians will run the power to outlets behind the hood through a contactor. The contactor stays on ALL THE TIME until my fire system is tripped. The the contactor is released from a micro switch and the power shuts off. So the contactor stays pulled in 24/7. I've thought this cant be good for a contactor. But again...im no electrician.
So would a Shunt Trip Breaker eliminate the need for a contactor? How does a Shunt Trip Breaker work exactly? Can someone explain it in "non-electrician terms" for me? LOL. Could the breaker be wired to a N.C. Micro Switch and then activate when the switch is opened and shut of multiple outlets?

often a shunt trip is an add on unit to a normal breaker, sometimes it is a combined unit.
for small size breakers that are not in the 100’s or 1000’s of amps ratings it is often a fairly simple solenoid that when you apply power to it, will Simpley nudge the breaker to the off or tripped position.
after this has happened, the breaker has to be reset by hand.

I doubt that it is suitable for use as an emergency power off cause it is not fail safe. I.e. if the coil failed, nothing would happen when you tried to trip it remotely.

in comparison, a contactor is considered fail safe by design because if it fails, a spring turns it off and it will stay off until repaired.

Hello, Ill start by saying i am NOT an electrician. I do own a small business installing commercial kitchen exhaust systems and fire suppression systems. I assist the electrician on site normally in wiring the Fire system and alarms.