Discuss Signing off works in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

MATTMGM

HI GUYS

LOOKING FOR SOME GUIDANCE PLEASE AS IT SEEMS TO BE A BIT OF A GREY AREA.

I AM AN ELECTRICIAN AND HAVE BEEN FOR 20 YEARS (COMPETENT).

IVE RECENTLY SET UP BUSINESS ON MY OWN AND HAVE BEEN ASKED TO REWIRE A DOMESTIC PROPERTY THAT IS BEING RENOVATED.

SO MY QUESTION IS 'DO I NEED TO BE REGISTERED WITH A BODY SUCH AS THE NICEIC OR CAN I DO THE INSTALLATION + TEST MYSELF AND REGISTER IT WITH BUILDING CONTROL MYSELF????'

IF SO DO WE KNOW OF THE COST IMPLICATIONS INVOLVED IN THIS?? AND ANY CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER??

YOUR HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.:smiley2::smiley2::smiley2:

Depending on your local building control, you can do it two ways - 1 is to register with a scheme, such as NICEIC or Napit etc.

2 is to notify building control that you will be starting the electrical works, and they will send an inspector round after first fix and then you test it at end of second fix.

Or you can just crack on, do the work as required and issue an EIC at the end of the job - this is what I often do as our BC seems to be totally useless and not understand what is needed!

Appreciate your reply so quick.

1)do you issue the eic to the customer and also phone building control to register the job?

2)do you know the cost implications involved in this?

Thanks again

If you are going to do this without being registered (nothing wrong in that), then it would be the responsibility of the home owner to inform Local Building Control (LBC). Some LBC may be satisfied with your qualifications, and be satisfied with your competency & EIC.

If not, after informing them (they may wish to inspect your work as it progresses), they will have the work tested and inspected. I have never been in this position, so not sure if the LBC, would carry out this out, but that's a lift from my LBC web site on the issue. The cost of LBC inspection varies, mine is £440 + vat.