Discuss Simple Question about LEDS and Resistors in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

Ajaylat

First off, I want to say that I'm not an electrician and don't know much about electricity.

My question... Is it ok to have two resistors connected to a 3mm led? Please don't ask why two resistors.

I just want to know if it would harm the led or have any kind of negative effect on the circuit or whatever. The two resistors may or may not have different ohm values.

I know this sounds like a dumb question, but I just need the answer. Here's a picture to illustrate what I'm talking about:

Untitled1234.jpg

Thank you very much!

Hi Ajaylat. I'm not sure I fully understand your question. Putting two smaller resistors in series with an LED will create a voltage divider circuit that's the equivalent of just have a single larger resistor equal to their sum in series. If the resistors are in series then they won't both be connected to the same 3mm LED so I really don't understand your question.

Maybe you can clarify.

The only thing I can see it doing is adding a resistance that's going to make the LED dimmer than without them, I don't know the resistance of the LED or the resistors but I would say its just like adding another LED in series in effect, it's just going to be dimmer if not totally zapped for power and no light up at all.

- - - Updated - - -

As Marvo says, we could do with a bit more clarity and info really.

I presume this is a college project to find the resistance required to limit the current and voltage to an led....
Ok the formula is R= (Vs - Vl) / Il This is to say R= resistor required, Vs is supply voltage, Vl is led forward voltage and Il is the led running current.
So we know a standard led has a forward voltage of 1.3v and its running current is usually 20mA
Therefore at 12v supply, battery we get R= (12-1.3) / 0.020 =535 ohms
Hope this helps

Ok thanks, uksparks! I wished I hadn't asked that question.