Discuss size of main tails in flats in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

P

paul m-c

hi guys,
i am a domestic installer and i have won a contract to wire 6 flats in a new build and have no experiance of this sized job. my Q. is what cable and size do i use from the meters on ground floor to DB's in flats the max load per flat is less than 80A.

Paul

25mm meter tails used to be 16mm but when i worked for southern electric as a meter engineer we were told have to be 25mm but a good start is look at the incoming to meter.
Regards
Tony.

hi guys,
i am a domestic installer and i have won a contract to wire 6 flats in a new build and have no experiance of this sized job. my Q. is what cable and size do i use from the meters on ground floor to DB's in flats the max load per flat is less than 80A.

Paul

depends on what protection you are going to use for the risers and how long they are, what is the installation method

the usual method is to install a 16mm 3 core swa which is rated between 64 and 89 amps depending on the method, this will also carry your adequate cpc, if you are fusing at 80 amps at source you will have to go up to 25mm which is rates between 82 -118 amps again depending on the installation method

I have just done a similar job with 8 flats.

You will have to do your calcs with length, diverstity etc. But to reduce cost, you can use 16mm T&E with an additional 6mm CPC. Table 54G

Hope it helps

Hi