Discuss slow rotational motion detection (solar PV surplus monitoring) in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

jbella

Hi,

I am not an electrician and my knowledge about electricity is quite limited but I believe that this is the right place where to submit my question.
I recently had a solar PV panels installed and I am monitoring solar PV generation and whole house consumption by Current Cost EnviR energy monitor with two clumps and transmitters.
I have another clamp and monitor on the live cable between main fuse box and house electricity meter which monitors how much electricity I am importing from the grid or exporting the surplus electricity to the grid but it does not monitor direction of the current - in or out.

I would like to monitor current direction (in / out) but I am not sure whether there is any clamp meter/multimeter which would monitor direction of current flow.

I think simpler solution would be to monitor the motion of my classical electricity meter disk. Basically when the surplus electricity is exported to the grid electricity meter disk is steady and obviously it is (slowly) rotating when the electricity is imported from the grid.
I believe that there are reflective optical sensor based detectors which could monitor this slow rotational motion I could attach to the electricity meter. Ideally I would like to have two stage (moving / standby) remote led indicator as an output from this detector.
I've tried to detect this motion by optical mouse but it did not work. It might be that the distance between electricity meter disk and mouse optical sensor was out of focus.
I was searching on the web quite intensively but I could not find anything commercially available or I was just using wrong keywords.
Since I do not have any electrician / soldering skill I would prefer kind of plug and play device rather that just individual components.

Has anyone come across with something similar or have you got any idea?