Discuss Solar Grounding help in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

H

haf1zur

Hi

new to the forum so please bear with me, this may be a simple question for most but being a newbie i dont really know

er indoors decided she wants a green house, so got one and put it up, but now its too cold to keep plants unless its heated, so decided to get a 3ft tubular heater, but knowing it will need to be on pretty much all day i realised its going to cost a bomb in electricity from the rip off suppliers

so i decided to get a solar panel, 50w mono panel with a 10amp 12v charge controller, today arrived the battery and the inverter and i set everything up, only each time i go to switch on the inverter i am getting mild electrical shocks, did some google searching and found that either the pv panel, battery or the inverter needs grounding. maybe even all three, this is where lies the problem

upon searching i came across various diagrams, some suggest the battery negative to be grounded, some suggest the pv panels to be grounded and some suggest the inverter to be grounded while another suggested the battery and the pv panel to be grounded

its a simple setup, solar panel to charge controller, charge controller to battery, battery to inverter and inverter to temperature controller which the tubular heater is plugged into (wont let me post a pic or link)

so if anyone can give me a simple answer please:

should i ground all three or two or one of the items

thanks in advance

thats what i am asking, what part of the setup needs earthing?

your inverter and battery will have earth connections

anyway i know you have started this small project but unless your growing cannabis
your plants will survive with a cover over them or bag them up

your inverter and battery will have earth connections

anyway i know you have started this small project but unless your growing cannabis
your plants will survive with a cover over them or bag them up