Discuss Solar PV Wiring Query - Compliance with BS 7671 in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a new member; just joined the forum. Thanks for taking the time to read this, would appreciate any advice...

My landlady has just installed a 4kWp solar PV system in the house I rent, and I think there are problems with the wiring:

1. There are no isolation switches anywhere in the PV circuit - none. No DC disconnect, no AC isolation switch, nothing. It's all wired directly from solar panels to inverter to CU. Do the wiring regs allow this?

2. The AC supply from the PV system is wired into the load side of an immersion heater MCB (16A) and the neutral busbar of the CU. Is this ok, or should it be on a separate 2 pole MCB?

3. The are no labels or warnings signs of any kind, anywhere on the PV circuit. Again, is this acceptable?

4. The installers have not done any testing and they have not provided an EIC.

I'm not an electrician and I'm not sure if the above is ok - as a kind of minimum acceptable standard. Would someone be kind enough to confirm one way or other?

Thanks lads
Buck

Hi Buck and welcome to the forum.

Sounds well dodgy. Advise her not to pay until the installation is compliant. Is it definitely complete and commissioned? Maybe the installer plans to return to finish off?

The DC isolator might be integrated into the inverter. Some systems don't need DC isolators. All systems need at least one AC isolator. If the inverter's in the loft, it should have two.

There should be lots of labels. We use approx 12-15 on every job. There should certainly be an EIC. Has she been given all her paperwork such as MCS certificate?

Can you post some photos of the installation?

Photo's please. It should be on its own MCB

What no meter?

Dropbox and a link will do.

From your description, it doesn't sound as though it is either BS7671 or MCS compliant.