Discuss Solar trips rcbo c16 in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

newfutile

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
There are 2 inverters feeding into a dorman smith C16 rcbo , every time I visit this site (communal area power) it has tripped.

it switches on first time and never trips when im on site (though there is cloud cover today).

all the correct DC and AC isolators are present the inverters are a:

Shenzen JFY-TECH JSI-2500TL max power 2000 W 13 amp max current
SUNNY BOY SB 5000TL-21 max power 4600 VA 13 amp max current

i am unable to tell what solar panels are fitted, i also don’t know if the (RCD) Residual Current Device or the overcurrent part of the rcbo has trippped.

anyone have any idea ?

I'm no solar expert, but if the two inverters are feeding into the same Rcbo at their full current output combined, that could be reason it's tripping. 2kW added to 4kVA translates to around 28 amps.

I have been back to this property today and once again found it tripped, the sma inverter appears to leak a great deal to cpc.

As the wiring is surface/tray and run in 4 or 6 mm twin and earth I propose to change to a C25 mcb and I'm considering a 100ma rcd double pole in it's own enclosure.

I seem to remember that rcbo should not feed an inverter unless it's double pole, can anyone confirm this?Screenshot_20230404_111132_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20230404_111126_Gallery.jpg

Why is RCD protection required and is there an RCD at both ends?

As you've suggested a 100mA RCBO I assume the RCD is for fault protection only and not additional protection?

I can't see that 25A overcurrent protection is appropriate either if the total load is 28A, surely that would need 32A protection?

I think your right an a 32 amp mcb will be required , its a TN system with a ZS at the inverter isolator of 0.22 ohms . So fault protection is via the MCB and 100ma cant be additional protection in the traditional sense.