Discuss Sole Trader-Taking On Extra Labour in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

P

poirot

As the title reads, how do you employ someone to help at busy periods.

Are there any forum members who can offer some guidance on how to hire temporary labour, I am a sole trader so seeking advice on insurances, payment and any other points that are required etc. Any advice would be grately apprieciated.

Thanks in advance.

Well, you could just subcontract, then it's pretty much up to them what tax and insurance they pay. I think.

I used to request an invoice and just leave it up to them.

You could look at CIS and pay their tax at source

Or bit the bullet and do what I have now done and go the PAYE route, believe it or not they have been quite helpful!

I just sub contract to other self employed sparks. You have to register with cis as a contractor and verify them to see what level of deduction is to be made(usually 20%). Then when they invoice you give them a statement showing the deduction. Then every month you do a monthly return showing what you have deducted and pay the taxman.

The only downside is that you need to do a monthly return every month regardless of whether you have any sub contract labour or not. A late return is an immediate £100 fine.

The cis were actually pretty helpful when I was setting this up.

OMG not 2 Durham spark!!!!!!!!

Your not ginger too are you???

Last edited:
Hi Rocker, Cbw & DS