Discuss Some Questions on Inspection n Testing! Please Help! in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

nazoom

I have some questions with answers but not very sure if they are correct. Please help and be patient with. I am still a newbie. I have the books OSG, GN3, and 17 wiring edition.

Q.1 Describe the methods for verifying voltage drop compliance with BS7671 in terms of (a) measuring circuits impedance and (b) calcification. (3.31)

Answer: For (a) measuring the impedance ? Don’t know! Please Help.

For (b) I know the answer and the formulae

Q.2 Explain the importance of selecting protective devices appropriate to the prospective fault current. (3.29)

Answer:
Devices used for providing PFC are:
a) Semi enclosed Fuse BS3036
b) Cartridge Fuse BS1361
c)Cicuirt Breaker BS 60898
d) RCBOs
And The breaking capacities rating of the protective devices shall be greater than the Prospective fault current and prospective short current.

Are these answers correct?

Q.3Given maximum tabulated values of Zs, verify that measured values are acceptable, taking into account conductors operating and ambient temperature.(Q3.25)

Answer:
1.For TN-C-S systems maximum Ze is 0.35 ohms
For TN-S system, the maximum Ze is 0.8 ohms
For TT system Rcd is required

2. The ambient temperature must not exceed 30C
3. The cable conductors is made of copper.
4. For other than lighting circuit (voltage drop no more than 5 %) the voltage drop should b be no more than 5 %
5. A disconnection time of 0.4 Sec in circuit of 32 A.

Are theses answers correct?

Any help is much appreciated.

Q1