Discuss Some upstairs lights have stopped working after work done in attic - Help please! :( in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rich_uk87

Firstly I must apologize for not posting this in the DIY section, the post new thread button couldn't be found!

I have been laying floorboards in my attic and now 3 out of 5 upstairs lights have stopped working. I am sure I have not screwed through a cable, Im a qualified plumber so laying floorboards is nothing new to me, I have however been nothing joists and placing the cables in there to get the floorboards down so it possible ive tugged one a little to hard, I suspect this is my issue.

Nothing has tripped, and apart from the 3 lights not working everything else seems fine.

Im just wondering what the best way of locating this issue would be? I do not know a great deal about electrics so was wondering how a qualified would go about doing this.

Many thanks

Re: Some upstairs lights have stopped working after work done in attic - Help please!

Maybe you disturbed some joint box or ceiling rose, did you screw or nail the flooring?

Re: apologies duplicate thread.

Sounds like you have a broken cable somewhere, it could be in a fitting where it has snapped snapped off in the terminal, or as you say you may have damaged a cable while laying the floor. It may even just be coincidence.

When you call a spark in explain EXACTLY what you have done to make it easier for them to locate the fault, they will have the relevant test kit to check continuity of all the cables. Shouldn't be to big as job if it is as you describe.

Re: Some upstairs lights have stopped working after work done in attic - Help please!

Maybe you disturbed some joint box or ceiling rose, did you screw or nail the flooring?

I nailed the boards down, and have noticed some small amounts of plaster have come down below so the the nailing action has obviously disturbed the ceiling in some areas.

He'd use his test equipment.