Discuss star delta - generator in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Got star delta motor new installation, when goung into run just dies, dosrnt trip over losd, as if contactor not holding in on run. Wrong wiring diagram eith pannel, u1 goes u2, v1 to v2, w1 to w2 on motor windings. Running of a generator, 200kva, 50 kw motor, so man enough. Pannel firm say generator maybe lossing voltage when coming in to run mode. Only tested voltage 238v, 408v when running, never tried under load, any ideas

Sorry mate your post is very confusing, a diagram and a better description of what you have may help someone give you advice.

So whilst the motor should be running in delta, the windings are configured L1= U1,U2 L2=V1,V2 L3= W1,W2?

If so it's pretty obvious why it isn't working.

I have very little knowledge of motors (I can see the obvious one as pointed out above though) but generators are familiar territory.

So, what does the generator do while this is happening? Does it slow down, chuck up a cloud if black smoke, show up any warnings?
Is this the only load on the generator or is there a decent load on it before this motor starts?
Have you tried it with the generator unloaded aswell as under a decent load?

I was 4th electrician called to a job where 2 expensive pumps had burnt out. they were wired pretty similar to above and were single phasing. no-one noticed wiring !!

I have very little knowledge of motors (I can see the obvious one as pointed out above though) but generators are familiar territory.

So, what does the generator do while this is happening? Does it slow down, chuck up a cloud if black smoke, show up any warnings?
Is this the only load on the generator or is there a decent load on it before this motor starts?
Have you tried it with the generator unloaded aswell as under a decent load?