Discuss Storage Heating Replacement in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Kimbo123

DIY
Reaction score
Hello, looking for some advice please. The storage heater in my livingroom has stopped working and I thought I would take the opportunity to replace the heaters throughout the house (4 in total), I am unsure what is best to replace them with, modern storage heaters, panel heaters, IR heaters......? I am on an Economy 7 tariff which works well with storage heating but I have read that these tariffs are being phased out, is this true? TIA

The following is just based on recent personal experience of putting new (non storage) convector heaters in an old cottage. I'm no expert on tariffs or supply options. We elected to go onto a single rate supply because of our occasional and unpredictable usage. This resulted in heating costs last winter (ie before the price rises!) sometimes nearing ÂŁ300/week, so we learned to use the wood burner more!

My understanding is that Economy 7 is not being phased out for those already on that tariff. But most suppliers will no longer provide a 'new' E7 supply to premises that don't already have it.
Smart meters can be fitted for E7. You should be ok to carry on with that tariff, but if you want to change suppliers in the future you may find choice limited.
One thing to remember with E7 is that although off-peak electricity is (a lot) cheaper, on-peak is (a bit) more expensive.
So the choice whether to stick to E7 depends a bit on the profile of your usage. If you are using significantly more kWh on E7 than you are during the day, then probably best to stick to E7?

You may know that whatever heaters you choose now need to be LOT20 compliant, having 'smart' energy saving features.

If you have been OK with storage heaters in the past, and your daytime power usage is modest, personally I would stick with E7!

Last edited: