Discuss Stripping Alarm Cable (cable core keeps breaking) in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

numberwrong

"Stripping Alarm Cable (cable core keeps breaking)"

I'm using the 6 core cable that came with the Honeywell alarm system I got

Tried with Automatic style wire strippers, stanley knife, side cutters etc. but the steel core is very prone to breaking.

What tools or techniques would people recommend using?? Other cable this thin like Cat5 is just punched down in to the socket or crimped

Strip the outer using the rip cord provided and then trim off the plastic sheath,as for the inner cores I just use side cutters with no problem,but then again I have been doing it for over 30 years.

Yeah, the outer isn't a problem because of the rip cord. My side cutters aint as sharp as they could be... Haven't tried the good old-fashioned flat black crimp and strip tool, maybe this is the solution?

Yeah, the outer isn't a problem because of the rip cord. My side cutters aint as sharp as they could be... Haven't tried the good old-fashioned flat black crimp and strip tool, maybe this is the solution?
no mate don't think one of them will do it,best just buy some new cutters or a decent cable stripper,have you many to do?

was thinking something like this? no good?
Stripping Alarm Cable (cable core keeps breaking) 9721215B4k - EletriciansForums.net

Yeah, I've got loads to do (Alarm system for my 3 floor house) so willing to spend dollar on something that's quick and good

You could try it but it depends if the strippers go small enough there is a company called ideal industries based in warrington that do a nice little tool for smaller sized cables costs about £14

That's not even good enoigh to stir paint with, sling it in the bin.