Discuss supplying electric to decking and shed in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

W

welshman

hi, before i start i am not an electrician but i am looking for some advice from those who know!
i am looking to supply electric to my decking (for a few lights and a double socket) and then leading to my shed where i want a double socket.
the decking is about 5 metres away from the fuse box, to get there i have to pipe it under concrete. then from the decking to the shed is about 5 metres which will be run under soil. i am looking for any advice anyone can give me on what cables/conduits to use
many thanks

Option 1
4mm swa from house to shed protected by a 32amp rcbo at house.
In shed terminate swa into metal clad socket, feed on to a fused spur (change fuse to 3amp) & from fused spur to lights.

Option 2
4 or 6mm swa from house to shed protected by a 32amp rcbo at house.
In shed terminate swa into insulated box, Install small consumer unit with earth rod, 1x 16amp mcb for socket & 1x 6amp mcb for lights.

Option 3
Call an electrician.

Part P notification required !

Option 1
4mm swa from house to shed protected by a 32amp rcbo at house.
In shed terminate swa into metal clad socket, feed on to a fused spur (change fuse to 3amp) & from fused spur to lights.

Option 2
4 or 6mm swa from house to shed protected by a 32amp rcbo at house.
In shed terminate swa into insulated box, Install small consumer unit with earth rod, 1x 16amp mcb for socket & 1x 6amp mcb for lights.

Option 3
Call an electrician.

Part P notification required !

And WHY pray would you need to rod this shed???

Quite amazes me, just how quick some electricians will bung rods in, when there is absolutly no need to do so!!!