Discuss SWA (Surprisingly Weird Arrangement) in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
So I’m an inexperienced novice and I accept I know two ninths of four fifths of FA but when was this arrangement ever ok?
Installing like for like replacement garden lights, currently connected to a run of 4 core 1.5mm SWA emerging from ducting under patio. Somewhere further back it’s joined to lighting circuit and then back to 6A RCBO.
Brown and blue cores utilised for L and N of lights.
Grey and Black cores are also put to use, as L and N for an outdoor 13A socket at the end of the garden. The armour is providing the cpc and zs measurements at lights show it’s doing a fine job.
The switch for the garden lights also disconnects the line to the outside socket.
Am I missing something here? I’ve told clients that the socket has to go.

What is the socket used for?

It is a foolish arrangement having a 13A socket on a 6A circuit and slightly odd that the light switch switches both socket and light cores, however it is a safe arrangement because the cables cannot be overloaded but a very inconvenient one because it would be easy to trip the circuit breaker.

I think what he is getting at is two circuits, even though they come from the same protective device in one cable?

I read that the 4 core swa is jointed to an existing lighting circuit, so not sure if he meant this. Its unclear from the post the exact arrangement.
I inserted the rcbo as a condition of me replacing the lights dotted around the garden as it was originally MCB, no RCD protection.
1.5mm t&e normal lighting circuit at DB1 and in the light switch controlling the lights. Somewhere between the switch and the ducting under the patio this is clearly connected to the swa.