• If you have electrical work available, then you are in the correct forum.

Post details of the position you have on offer in this forum. Domestic / homeowners are also welcome to post electrical work they have available on their property. Or you're welcome to seach for a Local Electrician in our directory.

Discuss Switched live connected to neutral on lamp in the Electricians Jobs area at ElectriciansForums.net

This electrician job is going for grabs, please don't post contact details in this area of the forum. Use the forum messaging system instead.

Beeg

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here after some advice.

I’m in the process of replacing my landing light and when disconnecting the old one I noticed that the SW live was connected to neutral on the lamp and the circuit neutrals connected to live on the lamp.

I am aware that normally the SW live would go to live on the lamp and all the neutrals would be connected together. However the lamp has worked fine for the 3 years we’ve been in the house. Just wondering if I should change the connections? Or could it be that the wrong cable has been identified for SW live?
It’s 2 way lighting if that makes any difference.

Any advice greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Ben

17E032DB-4BDA-41E7-A4F7-95F5371C7664.jpeg

It should not affect lamp operation although some led lamps can be polarity biased. Yes you should reconnect it when you fit the new light but I have to say those block connectors are a poor means of connection especially if they are shoved up into the ceiling cavity as is poses a real fire risk.

Do you have the equipment to test which is the actual switches live or not and know how to practice safe isolation? If yes to both it’s worth changing if incorrect as depending on the bulb holder type having reverse polarity exposes live parts for unwary fingers when changing a bulb. If no to one or more questions just be wary when changing a bulb and get someone qualified to assist.